Achieve Counseling and Educational Services
The 12 hour DWI Education Program is licensed by the Texas Department of State Health Services and is approved by the Texas Department of Public Safety. The class is for first offenders with no prior convictions of DWI arrest. The standardized program is 12 hours in length and is designed to help DWI offenders increase their knowledge about alcohol and drugs as these substances relate to driving skills, to identify their own individual drinking/drug use and driving patterns, and to assist them in developing plans which will reduce the probability of future DWI behavior.
Specific course topics include:
* Alcohol/Drug and Traffic Safety Problems
* Texas law relating to DWI
* Cost of the DWI
* Effects of Alcohol/Drugs on
* Alcohol/Drugs and Task Abilities
* Symptoms of Dependency for Alcohol and Other Mood Altering Substances
Article 42.12. Section I3(h), Code of Criminal Procedure requires persons convicted of first offense DWI and receiving probation, to attend and successfully complete an education program certified by the department. Online classes are not permitted. Failure to complete the program within 180 days (unless an extension was granted) from the date probation was granted will result in the offender’s license being revoked. The license cannot be reinstated until the education program is completed.
If your DWI is from another state, please call to see if this course will meet your requirements. If not, we will customize a program for you that will satisfy your out-of-state needs. We work with clients from all States.